Куда за границу путешествуют американцы
Январь 01, 2018

Куда за границу путешествуют американцы

Американцы очень любят путешествовать, хотя продолжительность отпуска в среднем по Америке составляет 10 дней. Многие предпочитают переезжать с места на место по стране, но рано или поздно гражданин США выезжает за пределы своего государства. К сожалению, часто это происходит только после выхода на пенсию. По статистике, только половина граждан США бывали за границей. Каждый третий не имеет паспорта (он нужен именно для поездок за границу). Но ежегодно более 50 миллионов американцев отправляются путешествовать именно за рубеж. Попробуем проанализировать, какие страны пользуются у американцев наибольшей популярностью и почему.

Мексика, Коста-Рика, Доминикана

Пляжи соседней Мексики весьма популярны у американцев. Канкун и Плайя-дель-Кармен – излюбленные мексиканские места отдыха граждан США. Каждый третий американец, выезжающий за пределы своей страны, едет именно в Мексику. Гражданам США нравится мексиканский колорит, многие после недельного отдыха предпочитают вернуться в Мексику для более длительного путешествия. Мексиканские пляжи бывают самыми разными: белоснежными, бежевыми, огненно-оранжевыми, поэтому американцы тщательно относятся к выбору курорта. Лучшие из них находятся в штате Кинтана-Роо и фактически имеют атмосферу Кариб. В Канкуне все пляжи песчаные и белые, в основном общественные. Плайя-дель-Кармен — маленькая версия Канкуна с более компактными пляжами и провинциальной атмосферой. Отлично подходит для семейных пар с маленькими детьми. В Плайя-дель-Кармен все пляжи бело-песчаные, и рядом с каждым есть кафе и рестораны, что очень ценится американцами. Тихуана — тусовочный американский курорт, очень многолюдный и не элитный. Очень многие американцы приезжают в Тихуану вовсе не на пляжи, а в Центр, где много хороших отелей, ресторанов и баров. В Тихуане на пляжах мелкая галька или бледно-серый песок.

Коста-Рика привлекает американцев тем, что там два побережья – тихоокеанское и атлантическое, и они совершенно разные. Эта страна – зелёное сердце Латинской Америки, там есть и горные туристические маршруты, и возможности для серфинга, рафтинга, подводной рыбалки и дайвинга, а также отличные климатические условия. Коста-Рика «заточена» под отдых американцев. Немало из них, единожды её посетив, решаются на покупку домика или квартиры.

Пунта-Кана в Доминиканской Республике ценится за прекрасные пляжи. Вообще заграничная поездка для американца – вещь архи-удобная, поскольку синяя книжица даёт право безвизового посещения более 150 стран мира. Само понятие «получать визу» для гражданина США – вещь экзотическая. Многие американцы вообще не представляют, что безвизовое путешествие – это роскошь и привилегия, полагая, что так и должно быть.

Канада

От 12 до 15 миллионов американцев каждый год выезжают в Канаду (большая часть прибывает на автомобилях, остальные – самолётами). Близость этого государства и отличный сервис в сочетании с удивительными природными красотами делают канадское направление отдыха граждан США одним из самых популярных. Кроме того, в Канаде тоже говорят на английском языке. Прагматичным американцам это нравится. Кроме того, Канада сама по себе великолепна и гостеприимна. Пешие походы и каякинг – наиболее популярный здесь вид отдыха американцев. Особо востребована Канада перед рождественскими каникулами – в ней много снега и развлечений, связанных с зимними видами спорта. Посмотреть американскому туристу в Канаде действительно есть что, начиная с Ниагарского водопада и заканчивая музеем хоккейной славы.

Великобритания

В Лондон граждане США в основном едут как на историческую родину, в поиске родовых корней, а также потому, что «там по-английски говорят». Это самая посещаемая американцами европейская страна. Чопорные англичане тоже любят заокеанских гостей – как богатые туристы (а любой среднестатистический американец богаче любого среднестатистического европейца) они желанные гости в любой стране. Особенно для служащих отелей, официантов и таксистов – американские туристы не скупятся на чаевые.

Ведут себя за границей жители американского континента непосредственно, как дети. Они общительны и охотно вступают в разговоры. Говорят обычно громко, поэтому американца всегда слышно за версту. Также они очень любят в путешествии вести дневник.

Во время заграничных вояжей американцы непременно занимаются одним из любимейших национальных видов спорта – посещением магазинов, где проходят распродажи. Слово sale действует на жителей США магически. Любая хозяйка будет необыкновенно счастлива после приобретения на распродаже где-нибудь в Лондоне костюма, который у себя дома она могла бы купить по цене, вдвое меньшей даже без всяких скидок.

Франция

Посетить Париж хотя бы однажды мечтают жители не только Америки, и американцы летят во Францию, потому что «Париж – это Париж!». Французы радушно принимают заокеанских гостей (как, впрочем, и любых других – ведь они гости) и предлагают им отдых на любой вкус. Много молодых американцев обучается в Сорбонне, одновременно наслаждаясь музейно-историческими достопримечательностями Франции. Лазурное побережье Франции также востребовано туристами из США, а близость Италии, Швейцарии, Германии и других европейских стран делает возможности американских путешественников ещё шире. Франция – одна из самых романтичных и красочных стран, в которой есть всё для комфортного и запоминающегося отдыха даже требовательных граждан США.

Голландия (Нидерланды)

Достопримечательности Голландии в сочетании с неповторимостью атмосферы Амстердама – это отдельный разговор и туристическое направление. Нидерланды (Голландия) является одной из стран-жемчужин западной части Европы. О красоте и колоритной культуре этого государства можно вести беседы часами, а о способах отдыха в Голландии уже складывают легенды. Здесь живут люди, обладающие особой ментальностью. Для многих местных, праздник является определяющим их смысл жизни. Надо ли говорить, что голландские туристические маршруты обладают особой привлекательностью для части туристов из США? По большей части американцы наслаждаются местным колоритом и изысканной атмосферой, кроме того, Нидерланды славятся своей кулинарией и винами.  В столице Голландии собрано всё культурное наследие страны, а также многие известные памятники архитектуры и прочие достопримечательности.

Австралия, Индонезия, Грузия и т. д.

В последнее время всё больше американцев предпочитают посещать австралийский континент. Во-первых, там тоже говорят по-английски, во-вторых, австралийские природные парки сильно отличаются от остальных мировых природных достопримечательностей. Американцы вообще любят всё необычное. Например, Индонезия их привлекает обилием различных самобытных племён и огнедышащими великанами-вулканами.

Грузия в последнее время всё более популярна у американских туристов кавказским гостеприимством и гастрономическим колоритом. Её посещает почти столько же граждан Америки, сколько едет в Израиль.  Туризм принес Грузии в 2016 году $2 млрд, при том что весь бюджет страны составляет $3,34 млрд. Крупнейшая американская гостиничная сеть «Best Western» открыла в Грузии 15 отелей. Американский доллар свободно принимается в Грузии в качестве оплаты товаров и услуг. Страна безопасна для туристов не только из США, а для любых гостей в принципе.

В данной статье мы рассказали только о нескольких туристических направлениях, которые выбирают граждане США в качестве путешествия. В целом американцы – домоседы. Природные и климатические условия США настолько разнообразны, что позволяют все отпуска проводить «в домашней обстановке», не выезжая за рубеж. Но если уж американец «вырвался» за границу, он будет класть в свою туристическую копилку страну за страной, пока не объездит полмира. Надо ли говорить, что это доступно довольно обеспеченным слоям американских граждан?

Пожалуйста, введите Ваш email в поле ниже и нажмите "Подписаться"
Подпишитесь и получите наиболее полные инструкции о приобретении и использовании Международных Водительских Прав, а также советы для водителей при нахождении зарубежом

IMPORTANT NOTICE: Due to quarantine for COVID-19 we will be able to ship your IDL only after 5th of April 2020. But an electronic version will be ready within 24 hours.

Where do Americans travel abroad?
January 01, 2018

Where do Americans travel abroad?

Americans like to travel very much, though at an average their vacation lasts only 10 days. Many Americans prefer to move from place to place inside the country, however, sooner or later, at last, they leave their home country. Unfortunately, quite often it happens only after they retire. According to U.S. tourism statistics, only half of U.S. citizens have ever been abroad. The National Travel and Tourism Office says that in 2016 the percentage of Americans who travel abroad was equal to only 3.5%. Every third citizen has no passport (the Americans need it only to travel abroad). However, each year more than 50 million Americans decide to travel abroad. Let’s try to find out which countries Americans travel to the most and why.

Mexico, Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic

Beaches of the neighboring Mexico are extremely popular with the Americans travelling abroad. Cancun and Playa del Carmen are favourite resorts for the U.S. citizens. Every third American who travels away from his home country chooses Mexico. The Americans like Mexican flair. Thus, after a week in Mexico, many of them prefer to come back to take a longer rest. Mexican beaches vary from snow-white, beige to fiery orange, that’s why U.S. citizens are extremely careful when choosing a resort. The best of them are situated in the state of Quintana Roo and in fact, share the same atmosphere as the Caribbean. In Cancun all beaches are sandy and white, mainly, public ones. Playa del Carmen is a small version of Cancun with more compact beaches and countryside atmosphere. It is a perfect place for spouses with small children. In Playa del Carmen all beaches are white and sandy and there is always a cafe or a restaurant nearby that the Americans greatly appreciate. Tijuana is a resort for party animals. It is very crowded and not that high-end. Many Americans choose Tijuana not because of the beaches, but because they want to visit the centre of the city where there are many fine hotels, restaurants, and bars. Tijuana beaches are covered with pebbles or pale-gray sand.

Costa Rica is attractive because of two seashores — the Pacific and the Atlantic. They are quite different. Costa Rica is a green heart of Latin America. It offers mountain tours, surfing, rafting, underwater fishing and diving facilities, as well as perfect weather conditions. Costa Rica is a place tailored to the needs of American tourists. Once they visit it, they decide to buy a house or flat there.

Punta Cana in the Dominican Republic is popular with the Americans due to its stunning beaches. Generally, a trip abroad is extremely convenient for U.S. citizens since a blue booklet gives them a right to visit more than 150 countries without visas. The idea of “getting a visa” sounds to the Americans extraordinary. Many Americans can’t even imagine that visa-free travel is a luxury and privilege, thus, they always take it for granted.

Canada

12 to 15 million Americans visit Canada each year (most of them travel by car, the rest — by air). The adjacent country and excellent service it offers along with natural wonders make Canada one of the most popular rest destinations for the U.S. citizen traveling abroad. Moreover, people in Canada also speak English. Pragmatic Americans like it. Moreover, Canada is in itself a gorgeous and hospitable country. Hiking and kayaking are the most popular leisure activities for the Americans. Canada is much in demand before the Christmas holidays since it has much snow and entertainment related to winter sports. There is much to see in Canada from Niagara Falls to Hockey Hall of Fame.

Great Britain

U.S. citizens visit London since this is their historical homeland, they want to find their roots and again because the locals speak English. Great Britain is the most visited European country among the Americans. Stiff English people also like their rich overseas guests (an average American is richer than any average European). That’s why the Americans are always welcome guests anywhere in the world, especially if we talk about the hotel staff, waiters and taxi drivers since American tourists never skimp on the tip.

When abroad the Americans behave spontaneously like children. They are very sociable and eagerly engage in conversations. They usually talk loudly. Thus, the Americans are always heard a mile away. Besides, they like to keep a diary while traveling.

During trips abroad, the Americans always enjoy one of their favourite national sports — shopping where there are sales. The word “sale” has a magical effect on the Americans. Every mistress will be thrice happy if somewhere in London on sale she buys a costume at the price almost two times less than in her home country.

France

Lots of people around the world dream of France, not only the Americans. The French warmly welcome their overseas guests (as, indeed, any other guests) and offer them rest to any taste. Many young Americans study at the Sorbonne and simultaneously enjoy museums and historical sites of the country.

The Côte d’Azur (or French Riviera) is also a preferred tourist destination for U.S. tourists, and its proximity to Italy, Switzerland, Germany and other European countries promotes opportunities for American tourists. France is one of the most romantic and colourful countries of the world that can offer even the most demanding U.S. citizens everything to make their rest comfortable and unforgettable.

Holland (Netherlands)

Tourist attractions of Holland together with the unique atmosphere of Amsterdam is a separate issue and tourist destination. The Netherlands (Holland) is one of the pearls of the Western Europe. You can spend hours talking about the beauty and vibrant culture of this country while people already start making up legends about how you can rest there. Holland is a place where the locals have a special mentality. They perceive holidays as something that identifies life’s meaning. Needless to say that Dutch tourist routes are particularly attractive for some tourists from the USA. For the most part, the Americans enjoy the local flair and refined atmosphere. Moreover, the Netherlands is well-known for its cuisine and wine. The capital of Holland collects the cultural heritage of the country as well as many architectural monuments and other places of interest.

Australia, Indonesia, Georgia, etc.

Recently, more Americans are choosing Australia. Wondering why? There are at least two reasons.

  • People there speak the same language as the Americans.
  • Australian natural parks differ a lot from other natural attractions.

The Americans like everything extraordinary. Indonesia attracts them because of numerous indigenous tribes and fiery giant volcanoes.

Nowadays Georgia is becoming more and more popular with American tourists due to its Caucasian hospitality and gastronomic flair. The number of tourists to Georgia can be compared to the number of U.S.citizens visiting Israel.  

In 2016, tourism has brought in $2 bln in revenue of Georgia, while the country’s budget is $3.34 bln. The largest American hotel chain “Best Western” has opened 15 hotels all across Georgia. U.S. dollar is freely accepted in Georgia as payment for goods and services. The country is safe not only for American tourists but generally for the guests from all over the world.

In this article, we have discussed only a few tourist destinations that U.S.citizens choose to travel to. Generally, the Americans are home-birds. Weather and natural conditions of the USA are so diverse that allow spending holidays “in private” with no need to leave home country. However, if an American finally decides to travel abroad, he will visit country after country until he travels round-the-world. Needless to say that only the well-to-do can afford that.

International travel statistics say that in 2016, a total of 66,960,943 U.S. citizens traveled outside the country, compared to the 61,783,913 who did in 2015.

Below you can see a list of top-10 countries traveled to the most by Americans in 2016-2017:

  1. United Kingdom
  2. Dominican Republic
  3. France
  4. Italy
  5. Germany
  6. Jamaica
  7. Spain
  8. China
  9. Bahamas
  10. India

Are you excited to see more data? Now have a look at the most popular travel destinations for U.S. citizens by state. The following infographics are provided by Orbitz.

Fig.1. The most popular travel destinations for U.S. citizens by state

To be on the safe side every time you travel abroad, apply for an International Driving Permit! Fill in the application form on our website. It won’t take up much of your time, however, save you money and nerves.

Happy travelling!

Please type your email in the field below and click "Subscribe"
Subscribe and get full instructions about the obtaining and using of International Driving License, as well as advice for drivers abroad