Škoda Auto
September 16, 2020

Škoda Auto

Das Tschechische Automobilunternehmen, das Autos unter dem Markennamen Škoda herstellt, wurde bereits 1895 gegründet. Der Hauptsitz des Unternehmens befindet sich in der Stadt Mlada Boleslav. Škoda Auto produziert auch Fahrräder (in der Tat, mit Ihnen begann alles). Wir werden versuchen zu verstehen, wie es sich herausgestellt hat, dass die Produktion von Autos der Marke “Skoda” heute ein Teil der Volkswagen Gruppe ist. 

Wie erschien das erste “Skoda” Auto 

Im Böhmischen Königreich, das zu Österreich-Ungarn gehört, lebte der Mechaniker W. Laurin und der Buchhändler W. Clement. Beide hießen Wenzel. Sie waren Patrioten und kamen einmal auf die gemeinsame Idee, Fahrräder mit dem Namen “Slavia” zu produzieren. Im Prinzip war die Idee nicht schlecht, die Europäer liebten Fahrräder und die Nachfrage nach Ihnen stieg ständig an. Die Firma Laurin & Klement Co (oder L & K) wurde geboren. Etwas später, bis 1899, außer den Fahrrädern war es beschlossen, die Produktion und die Motorräder (zu beginnen es wurden neben 4 tausend Motorräder produziert). Beide Wenzel waren Motorradrennfahrer, liebten es, an internationalen Wettbewerben Rennen teilzunehmen, wo oft Preise gewonnen wurden. Die Grenze des XIX und XX Jahrhunderts kam. Wenzel konzentrierte sich auf die Produktion von Autos. Fünf Jahre später, 1905, erschien Ihr erstes Fahrzeug, das zu einem Tschechischen Automobilklassiker wurde. Es hieß Skoda Voiturette A. Unter der Motorhaube Stand der damals mächtige zweizylinder-siebenzylinder-Motor. Die Maschine war kommerziell erfolgreich, und dank Ihrer Produktion von der Firma Laurin & Klement Co hat Böhmen eine entwickelte Industrie. Die Firma L & K begann zu florieren, es stellte sich die Frage der Ausweitung der Produktion (trotz der Tatsache, dass die Produktion von Motorrädern gestoppt). Autos (PKW, aber auch kleine Lastwagen und Busse) wurden nach Deutschland, Großbritannien, Russland, Neuseeland und Japan exportiert. Für den Geschäftsgebrauch wurde die Firma in eine Aktiengesellschaft umorganisiert. Dies geschah 1907. Die Aktien des Unternehmens stimulierten das Wachstum des erfinderischen Denkens, und als Ergebnis erschien ein neues Automodell namens Faeton.

Aber der erste Weltkrieg begann. Zivile Modelle wurden zusammengerollt, und das Unternehmen musste ab 1914 umgerüstet werden, um militärische Produkte herzustellen. L & K, motiviert, seine Marktposition zu stärken, musste modernisiert werden, wodurch es notwendig wurde, Unterstützung durch einen starken Wirtschaftspartner zu suchen. Sie und wurde die Firma Škoda. Die Letzte wurde 1923 von dem Ingenieur Emil Skoda in Pilsen gegründet. Zuvor arbeitete er ab 1869 in einer kleinen mechanischen Fabrik, die später zum größten Maschinenbauunternehmen Österreichs wurde. 

Die Geschäftspartner vereinen sich: historische Allianz 

Die Fusion von Laurin & Klement und Skoda-Pilsen erfolgte am 27. Juni 1925. Gemeinsam produzierten sie schöne, elegante Autos. Von 1925 bis 1929 wurden fast dreitausend Autos unter der Marke Skoda produziert. Während der großen Depression nimmt die Produktion ab: 1930 wird das Werk in Mlada Boleslaw eingestellt und auf seiner Basis wird die “Aktiengesellschaft der Automobilindustrie” ASAP gegründet. Das Unternehmen verfügt über eine gute Produktionsstätte, eine Niederlassung in Pilsen, mehrere Niederlassungen, Reparaturbetriebe und Handelsvertretungen. In der zweiten Hälfte der 30er Jahre erblickte Škoda 420 Popular das Licht der Welt, ein Modell, das bald zur Legende wurde. Es war ein kompaktes Auto mit einem Gewicht von nur 650 kg, die eine Geschwindigkeit von 80 km/h bei einem Verbrauch von 7.5 Liter pro hundert entwickelt. Und es wurde zu einem sensationellen Preis verkauft — etwa 18 tausend Kronen, abhängig von der Modifikation. Seit Mitte 30. Skoda produzierte leichte Panzer. Fast 300 Einheiten von Ihnen nahmen an militärischen Kampagnen der Zeit des Zweiten Weltkriegs Teil. Die vierziger Jahre des letzten Jahrhunderts wurden zur Zeit der Produktion von Gasgeneratorlastern, Raupentraktoren und Armee-SUVs, die auf der Grundlage des raffinierten Autos Skoda Superb entwickelt wurden, das 1936 vorgestellt wurde. 

Übrigens, “Laurin & Klement” und ist heute als Hersteller von Luxus-Varianten der Innenausstattung von Autos bekannt. 

Wie sich Skoda in der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts entwickelte

Es gibt schon lange kein Österreich-Ungarn und kein Böhmisches Königreich mehr. Auf Ihren Territorien befinden sich mehrere Staaten, von denen einer die Tschechoslowakei genannt wird. Die Firma wird in das nationale Unternehmen AZNP Skoda umbenannt, unter dem Deckmantel, dass die Firma ein Monopolist auf dem Automobilmarkt der Tschechoslowakei wird. Die erste Nachkriegsneuheit war der zweitürige Škoda 1101/1102 Tudor, der 1946 auf den Markt kam. Wenig später erschien auch die viertürige Version mit einer Tragfähigkeit von 300 kg. Neue Modelle der Marke Škoda — Octavia, Spartak und Felicia. Der neue Škoda 1000 MB wurde 1964 der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt. 1000 MB hatte einen 988 ccm Flüssigkeitsgekühlten 4-Zylinder-Motor mit einer Leistung von 45 PS, der sich im Heck des Körpers befindet. Die nächste Neuheit erschien 1969 Die neue Škoda 100/110, die eine überarbeitete Version des Vorgängers wurde, bekam eine frische Karosserie und Interieur, Scheibenbremsen der Vorderräder, einen verbesserten Motor. Das zweitürige Sportcoupé Škoda 110 R mit 1.1 L Motor und 62 PS, das 1970 erschien, war ein markantes Phänomen, da es ideologisch mit den Produkten der sozialistischen Automobilindustrie Dissonant wurde.

Die Nachfrage nach Autos wächst ständig, da der Markt der sozialistischen Länder einen Mangel an Transportmitteln und nicht nur sie hat. 1987 erscheint das Modell Favorit. Am Ende des Jahrhunderts modernisieren alle Unternehmen des Autokonzerns Skoda Ihre Produktion — die geplante sozialistische Wirtschaft wird nicht mehr dominiert, Marktumstellungen beginnen. Die Manager von Škoda beginnen, die Optionen für die Partnerschaft des Konzerns mit den weltweiten Auto-Giganten zu betrachten und die von Ihnen angebotenen Bedingungen abzuwägen. Der größte Vorteil der Führung “Škoda” findet in den Vorschlägen der deutschen Volkswagen — die Produktion eines Favoriten zu halten und die Qualität der Marke zu verbessern. Die deutschen Designer korrigieren alle Mängel des Modells Favorit und schaffen auf Ihrer Basis den eleganten Škoda Felicia, der 1994 veröffentlicht wurde. Fünftürer Hatchback ist durchaus wettbewerbsfähig mit westeuropäischen Analoga und Design und technische Eigenschaften. 

Zwei Jahre später wird auf dem Pariser Autosalon der Skoda Octavia gezeigt — auf der Plattform des Volkswagen Golf. Die Maschine ist überraschend schön und organisch. Zwei Jahre später, im März 1998, präsentiert der Autokonzern eine aktualisierte Version von Felicia und Facelift für den Kombi Octavia Combi. Die Arbeit in Richtung der Auffüllung der Modellreihe mit neuen Autos wird fortgesetzt. So wurde Ende 1999 das Fabia — Modell geboren-ein brandneues Auto, das die Markenmerkmale von Skoda geerbt hat. Das Modell hat seine Position sowohl auf dem europäischen als auch auf dem heimischen Markt gewonnen und setzt Fort, erfolgreich mit den Autos der führenden Autohersteller in dieser Klasse zu konkurrieren. 

Entwicklung der Marke “Škoda” im Dritten Jahrtausend: die Tradition und Gegenwart

In den 19 Jahren des XXI Jahrhunderts das Unternehmen hat einen großen Sprung nach vorne gemacht. Seine Autos wurden qualitativ anders, und die Vielfalt der Modelle und die Geschwindigkeit Ihres Auftretens auf dem Markt übertrafen alle Erwartungen. “Škoda” zeigt eine ausgezeichnete Kombination aus Preis und Qualität. Darüber hinaus wird ständig positioniert, um die Anzahl der verschiedenen Optionen zu erhöhen. Es gibt zahlreiche Renovierung und Modellpflege. Škoda Yeti, Škoda Rapid Spaceback, Octavia Ambition, Elegance, Škoda Snowman, Škoda Roomster, Octavia Active, Škoda Octavia Combi, Škoda Citigo, Škoda MissionL Concept, Octavia vRS Boneville Special, Škoda Fabia GreenLine, Škoda VisionD Concept, Škoda Scout und Superb Combi, Škoda Fabia Combi Scout, Škoda Octavia vRS Limited Edition — dies sind nur einige der produzierten Modelle von “Škoda” Autos verschiedener Modifikationen. Aber alle haben so genannte “Vollausstattung” — zweizonenklimaanlage, elektrisch einstellbaren Spiegel und Sitzen, Sitzheizung, Lendenwirbelstützeregelung, acht Lautsprechern, Tempomat, Seitenairbags, Alufelgen und viele andere Optionen. Die Tschechen halten sich an die Position des “gesunden Konservatismus”, wenn revolutionäre Veränderungen und wesentliche Veränderungen im Design nicht beobachtet werden, und die Qualität wächst um eine Größenordnung. Alle Autos sind mit einem innovativen Sicherheitssystem (einschließlich Notbremssystem) ausgestattet. Mit Hilfe von sensoren überwacht das Auto der Marke Škoda immer die aktuelle Fahrspur, merkt sich Verkehrszeichen und Einschränkungen und zeigt alle Informationen auf dem Armaturenbrett an. Die Neuheiten sind sogar mit Airbags für die Knie des Fahrers ausgestattet. Škoda hält die Marke: die Tschechischen Traditionen beeinflussen die Positionierung der Marke, und die neuesten Technologien von Volkswagen ermöglichen es Ihnen, mit den Weltneuheiten Schritt zu halten. 

Wir wünschen Ihnen viel Spaß beim Fahren mit Škoda. Aber denken Sie daran, dass das beim Fahren muss man einen internationalen Führerschein haben. Vergessen Sie auch nicht, dass auf unserer Website können Sie einfach und schnell einen internationalen Führerschein abfassen. Es kostet nicht viel Zeit und Mühe, aber das hilft Ihnen bei der Geländefahrt nicht nur an jedem Ende des Planeten.

Please type your email in the field below and click "Subscribe"
Subscribe and get full instructions about the obtaining and using of International Driving License, as well as advice for drivers abroad

IMPORTANT NOTICE: Due to the COVID-19 pandemic and closed borders, there is a huge delay in the delivery of regular airmail and EMS. Please choose DHL/TNT/UPS, if it is important for you to receive the document on time.

Škoda Auto
October 28, 2019

Škoda Auto

The Czech carmaker, which produces cars under the Škoda brand, was founded in 1895. The company is headquartered in Mlada Boleslav. Škoda Auto also produces bicycles (actually, it all started with them). Let’s try to understand how it turned out that the production of Škoda cars is part of the Volkswagen Group today.

How the first Škoda car appeared

In the Kingdom of Bohemia, which was part of Austria-Hungary, there were mechanic V. Laurin and bookseller V. Klement. Both were called Václav. Václavs were patriots and once came to a common idea to produce bicycles with the name “Slavia”. In principle, the idea was not bad, Europeans loved bicycles and the demand for them has constantly increased. Laurin & Klement Co (or L & K) was born. A little later, by 1899, in addition to bicycles, it was decided to start producing motorcycles (about 4 thousand motorcycles were manufactured). Both Václavs were motorcycle racers, liked to take part in international races, where they often won prizes. It was the turn of the XIX and XX centuries. Václavs focused on the production of cars. Five years later, in 1905, their first automobile creation appeared, which became a Czech automobile classic. It was called the Skoda Voiturette A. Under the hood of the car, there was a powerful for those times two-cylinder, liter, seven HP engine. The car proved to be commercially successful, and thanks to its production by Laurin & Klement Co, Bohemia began to have a developed industry. The L & K company began to flourish, the question arose about the expansion of production (despite the fact that the production of motorcycles had stopped). Vehicles (cars, as well as small trucks and buses) exported to Germany, the UK, Russia, New Zealand and Japan. For the benefit of the business, the company was reorganized into a joint stock company.  It happened in 1907. Corporatization of the company stimulated the growth of inventive thought, and as a result, a new car model called Faeton appeared.

But the First World War began. The production of civil models were discounted, and since 1914, the enterprise had to be converted for production of military type. The L & K company, motivated to strengthen its position in the market, needed modernization, and therefore there was a need to seek support in the face of a strong economic partner. The Škoda company became one. The latter was founded in Pilsen in 1923 by engineer Emil Škoda. Before that, since 1869, he worked at a small mechanical plant, which later turned into the largest mechanical engineering company of Austria-Hungary.

Companions unite: historical alliance

The merger of the companies “Laurin & Klement” and “Skoda-Pilsen” took place on June 27, 1925. Together, they began to produce beautiful, elegant cars. From 1925 to 1929, almost three thousand cars under the Skoda brand were produced. In the period of the Great Depression, production volumes decreased: in 1930, the plant in Mlada Boleslav ceased to exist and on its basis the Joint stock automotive company (“Akciová společnost pro automobilový průmysl“), or ASAP, was formed. The company has at its disposal a good production base, a branch office in Pilsen, several company branches, repair enterprises and commercial representation offices. In the second half of the 1930s, the Škoda 420 Popular was born, the model which soon became a legend. It was a compact car weighing only 650 kg, developing a speed of 80 km/h at a fuel usage of 7.5 liters per hundred km. And it was sold at a sensational price – about 18 thousand crowns, depending on the modification. From the mid 1930s, Škoda is engaged in production of light tanks. Almost 300 units of them participated in military campaigns during World War II. The 1940s were the time of production of gas-generating trucks, tracked tractors and military offroaders, developed on the basis of the exquisite Skoda Superb, presented in 1936. By the way, Laurin & Klement is also known today as a manufacturer of luxury car interior trim options.

How Škoda developed in the second half of the XX century

Austria-Hungary and the Kingdom of Bohemia are long gone. On their territories, there are several states, one of which is called Czechoslovakia. The company was renamed the national AZNP Skoda company, under the guise of which it becomes a monopolist in the automotive market of Czechoslovakia. The first postwar novelty was the two-door Škoda 1101/1102 Tudor, released on the market in 1946. A little later, a four-door version with a capacity of 300 kg appeared. New models of the Škoda car brand – Octavia, Spartak and Felicia, were produced. The brand new Škoda 1000 MV car was presented to the public in 1964. The 1000 MB had a 4-cylinder liquid-cooled engine with a capacity of 988 cc and a capacity of 45 HP, located in the rear of the body. The next novelty appeared in 1969. The new Škoda 100/110, which became a reinterpreted version of its predecessor, got a fresh body and interior, disc brakes of the front wheels, improved engine. The two-door sports coupe Škoda 110 R with an engine of 1.1 l and 62 HP, which appeared in 1970, became a striking phenomenon, because was ideologically discordant with the products of the socialist automotive industry.

The demand for cars was constantly growing, as the socialist countries’ market was experiencing a shortage of means of transport and not only them. In 1987, the Favorit model appeared. At the end of the century, all the enterprises of the Skoda automaker modernized their production – the planned socialist economy ceases to dominate, market transformations began. Škoda managers begin to consider options for partnership of the concern with the global auto giants and weigh proposed conditions. Škoda management finds the greatest benefit in the proposals of German Volkswagen – to maintain the production of the Favorite and improve the quality of the brand. German designers correct all the flaws of the Favorit model and create on its basis the elegant Škoda Felicia, released in 1994. The five-door hatchback is quite competitive with Western European counterparts both in design and technical characteristics.

Two years later, the Škoda Octavia on the Volkswagen Golf platform was demonstrated at the Paris Motor Show. The car is amazingly beautiful and organic. Two years later, in March 1998, the carmaker presents an updated version of the Felicia and facelift for the Octavia Combi wagon. Work continued in the direction of replenishment of the model range with new cars. Thus, at the end of 1999, the Fabia model was born – a completely new car that inherited the brand features of Škoda. The model has won its position both in the European and domestic market and continued to compete successfully with the cars of leading automakers in this class.

Development of Škoda in the third millennium: traditions and modernity

In 19 years of the XXI century, the company made a huge leap forward. Its cars have become qualitatively different, and the variety of models and the speed of their appearance on the market exceeded all expectations. Škoda shows an excellent combination of price and quality. In addition, an increase in the number of different options is constantly positioned. Updates and restylings are  innumerable. Skoda Yeti, Skoda Rapid Spaceback, Octavia Ambition, Elegance, Skoda Snowman, Skoda Roomster, Octavia Active, Skoda Octavia Combi, Skoda Citigo, Skoda MissionL Concept, Octavia vRS Boneville Special, Skoda Fabia GreenLine, Skoda VisionD Concept, Skoda Superb Scout and Combi, Skoda Fabia Scout Combi, Skoda Octavia vRS Limited Edition – these are only some of Škoda production models of various modifications. But all of them are fully loaded – two-zone air conditioning system, electric adjustment of mirrors and seats, seat heater, lumbar support adjustment, eight speakers, cruise control, side airbags, alloy wheels and many other options. Czechs adhere to the position of reasonable conservatism, when revolutionary changes and significant transformations in design are not observed, and the quality grows by an order of magnitude. All cars are equipped with an innovative safety system (including Active Brake Assist). With the help of sensors, the Škoda brand car always monitors the current lane, remembers road signs and restrictions, displaying all the information on the dashboard. Novelties are even equipped with airbags for the driver’s knees. Škoda  maintains reputation: Czech traditions influence the brand positioning, and the latest technologies from Volkswagen allow us to keep up with the world’s new products.

If you haven’t tried driving a Czech car yet, we recommend you to take advantage of this opportunity in the Czech Republic by renting any of the model range. Driving a rented car is better with an international driver’s license, and if you still don’t have it, that’s no problem. We invite you to quickly and easily process the IDL on our website. It won’t take you a lot of time and effort, but this document is useful not only when exploring the sights of the Czech Republic.

Please type your email in the field below and click "Subscribe"
Subscribe and get full instructions about the obtaining and using of International Driving License, as well as advice for drivers abroad